Pin 3 – Lasagna Cupcakes

Afternoon…I hope everyone had a great weekend! I got to see some friends I haven’t seen in a while so it was wonderful! 🙂

Today’s pin is Lasagna Cupcakes and comes from the blog The Girl Who Ate Everything.  I love lasagna, it is absolutely one of my all time favorite things to eat!  I also love cupcakes… 🙂

I stopped at Meijers to pick up a few things I needed for the recipe and they had wontons on sale but of course they were out! Our Meijers seems notorious for not having sale items.  Luckily they had egg roll wrappers…I’m not sure what the difference is (thickness?) but I figured it would probably work.

First step was to cut the wontons into circles.  I didn’t have a cookie or biscuit cutter so I had to use a glass and a knife.  I didn’t come up with the great idea of stacking more than one wrapper until the end…imagine that!

Next was to make sure the pan was nice and greased and to insert the circle cut outs.  At this point I thought that perhaps they were supposed to go in a mini-muffin pan (I pictured the wontons coming up the sides of the muffin pan.  After I started layering I knew that couldn’t be right either, so back to the normal muffin pans I went! Also, something is up with the recipe because it says you need 12 wonton wrappers but that the recipe only makes 6 cupcakes?

While I was cutting out the wontons I browned my ground beef with a little salt and pepper.

Next was the layering, since I thought the recipe was messed up I just kind of did whatever I wanted here…and yes I ran out of ground beef near the end, but honestly you couldn’t tell a difference.  I had a layer of parmesan, mozzarella, and ricotta, then a layer of ground beef and sauce, then back to the parmesan, mozzarella, and ricotta, then ground beef and sauce, and ended with mozzarella and parmesan.

Finally they are ready for the oven!

They came out great, but I will say I thought they would be crispier on the outside.  I think I could have cooked them a little longer (I had them in the oven for 18 minutes) and perhaps if I had wonton wrappers they would have been thinner.  Final thought…..they are super delicious on the 2nd and 3rd day, so make them ahead of time and heat them back up in the oven for 10 minutes!

Leave a Reply

